Register to Vote
AuditorHow to Vote Register to Vote Absentee Voting Voting Precincts Military/Overseas Voting Upcoming Elections Election Results Maps Precinct Election Officials Candidate Information Finance Budget FAQ
- A U.S. Citizen
- A resident of Iowa
- At least 17 years old (must turn 18 by Election Day to vote)
Crawford County Voters
Register to Vote Online
You can now register to vote or update your voter registration online through the Iowa DOT if you have an Iowa Driver's License or state-issued non-operator's identification.
Download a Printable Voter Registration Form
Download a voter registration form to complete and return to the Crawford County Auditor at the County Courthouse, 1202 Broadway, Suite 5, Denison, IA 51442.
Verify that You are Registered to Vote
Visit the Iowa Secretary of State's website to verify that you are registered to vote and that your information is current.
Election Day Registration
You may register and vote on election day. To do so, you first must go to the correct polling place for your current address on election day.
If you are unsure of your polling place, Find Your Precinct/Polling Place.
At the polling place, you must prove both who you are and where you live. The best way to do this is with your valid Iowa driver’s license with your current address printed on it.
Proof of ID
If you do not have an Iowa driver’s license, you may use a photo ID that is current, valid, and contain an expiration date. The following are acceptable IDs:
- Iowa non-driver ID card
- Out-of-state driver's license or non-driver ID card
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military ID
- ID card issued by employer
- Student ID issued by Iowa high school or college
- Tribal ID
Proof of Residence
If your photo ID does not contain your current address, you may use another document to prove where you live if it contains your name and current address. The following are acceptable proofs of residence:
- Residential lease
- Utility bill (including a cell phone bill)
- Bank statement
- Government check or other government document
If you cannot prove who you are and where you live with the documents listed above, a registered voter from your precinct may attest for you. Both you and the attester will be required to sign an oath swearing the statements being made are true. Attesters must provide proper identification for themselves in order to attest to another voter’s identification.
Falsely attesting or being attested for is registration fraud. It is a class “D” felony and is punishable by a fine of up to $7,500 and up to 5 years in prison.
Restoration of Voter Eligibility
For information regarding restoration of citizenship/voting rights (e.g., for those with previous felony convictions), please visit the Governor's Office website.